17 Jan 2018

GST: 6 more states join e-way bill system, GSTN starts trial run : By-live Mint

Haryana, Bihar, Maharashtra, Gujarat, Sikkim and Jharkhand have started the trial run for the e-way bill system, taking the total number of states using the system to 10

New Delhi: As many as six more states, including Gujarat, Haryana and Bihar, on Tuesday joined the government’s centralized e-way bill system for inter-state road transportation of goods in the goods and services tax (GST) regime, taking the total to 10.

Under the GST rolled out from July last year, inter-state movement of goods beyond 10km, with a value of Rs50,000 and above, will mandatorily require e-way bill from 1 February. Four states—Karnataka, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand and Kerala—had already started using e-way bill. On Tuesday, six more states—Haryana, Bihar, Maharashtra, Gujarat, Sikkim and Jharkhand—have started the trial runs kickstarted by the GST Network (GSTN).

“Other states are also likely to join us soon in this initiative and it will be implement it throughout the country from next month. Transporters and other taxpayers will not be required to visit any tax office or check post under this system and the e-way bill can be generated electronically,” GSTN CEO Prakash Kumar said.

Transporters who want to generate e-way bill can visit the ‘’ portal and register themselves by giving the GSTIN. Transporters, who are not registered under GST, can enrol themselves under e-way bill system by providing their PAN or Aadhaar to generate the e-way bill.

There is a provision for cancellation of e-way bill within 24 hours of its generation